Rereads and Personal Growth

This is not a review as much as a quick discussion post. I recently read Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell for the second time. The first time I fell in love with the story and strongly recognised myself in the character Cath. I feel I’ve changed quite a bit over the past few years, therefore, I wanted to see if it was as awesome as I remembered.

You know when you love something only because you used to love it so much? That’s what High School Musical is to me. I re-watched HSM2 a while back and I hate to say it, but it was torture. It’s iconic now, I have to love it, but the films themselves are bloody awful. I suppose I wanted to see if it was the same case with Fangirl.

Fangirl was great, but not as magnificent and fantastic as it was the first time, though nothing really is. It’s interesting to see how my perception changes however. I read it the first time before going to uni, and now I’m almost done with second year. My first year at uni was drastically different from Cath’s first year of college, being more like Wren’s (though not as extreme thank god). This has allowed me to see Cath and my past self from a different perspective and I find I have developed in a different way from what I expected back then. I’m shy and quiet in the same way Cath is, and I too lose myself in literature easily, especially when I’m in new situations or want to hide away. Though I never had a twin, I will also form strong attachments to a few friends, often letting them take the charge. I’m still all those things, but to a healthier degree, as I have grown a lot from moving to a new country and forming new relationships with no-one to lean on. That is definitely a good thing and I’m very happy to be where I am at the moment.

ne7ukffcfqd3rnmvwi36

HAVE YOU REREAD BOOKS FOR THE SAME REASON? HOW DID YOU FEEL AFTER?

Leave a Reply

